Greetings from Wisconsin

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings from Wisconsin

Waving the newbie flag here. My family and I are moving to Madison, Wisconsin in two months...buying a house with almost an acre lot. It's just calling for a wood fired oven. Like many others I've been reading about, I have no masonary experience. But looking over postings and reading your tales of adventure I'm confident I'll muddle through.

Already have a rough idea on an oven/bbq combination. I'm not planning on starting until spring of 09...so allowing plenty of time to learn, plan and ask lots of questions of you all. Hopefully will also give me some time to scrounge free/cheap materials.

So I'm looking forward to the collective wisdom of you all...and if anyone who's built an oven in the Wisconsin area would like to get together...I'd love to see and learn in person.

Thanks.,..
    ------------------------
    "If you think you can do a thing or think you can't do a thing, you're right." - Henry Ford

Re: Greetings from Wisconsin

Cplain

Let me be the first to welcome you. I'm in Cincinnati. I started my oven building planning last March. I'm getting ready to cure/insulate.

Don't worry about masonry skills - I had/still don't have any and still was able to pull it off. I will say I'm somewhat a DIY'er so that helped out a lot.

Just ask a lot of questions and use the plans FB provided.

Dick

I know, I know - given your northern climate be sure to do research on the type of footer you'll use.

Comment

Dick

Thansk for kind words of encouragement. I checked out your thread on "the badger build"...very impressive! You're an inspiration to guys like me thinking about undertaking this project.

Craig
      ------------------------
      "If you think you can do a thing or think you can't do a thing, you're right." - Henry Ford

Comment