Does a pizza oven roof have to be domed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does a pizza oven roof have to be domed

Hiya all I am a real newbie and have done alot of reading. My wife wants a wood fire oven int he back yard and has put me in charge of design and construction.

As I said I have read alot and have looked briefly on this site but I have a few questions habe me stumped.

1. Is there a reason why the inside of the oven needs to be domed.Is that to create the swirling hot air patterns within the oven. I can understand the size of the chamber and the size of the door being to a particular spec but I cant understand why the inside needs to be domed.My wall oven is square inside after all.

2. If I use insulated firbricks should I still to a layer of vermiculite on the slab prior to laying the firebricks ?

3. The oven I am building will have an external wall that will be approximately four inches away from the wood fire chamber do I just put the insulation blanket in this void is that how the blanket works (similar to how insulation is out in the walls of my house ?)

Thanks for the helps guys as I said steep learning curve for me.

Imran

Re: Does a pizza oven roof have to be domed

Welcome.

1) http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f2/w...s-round-2.html

2) DO NOT use insulating fire brick to build your oven chamber! The point of the brick oven is to absorb heat and reflect it back on your food. The insulation layer goes on the outside of the dome, and underneath the floor.

3) The insulation blanket works like the insulation in your house, except that it is heavier, denser, and will resist high temperatures. A four inch space should be fine if you are using the blanket. Most of us put an additional layer of vermiculite on top of the blanket, with or without concrete to harden it.

Good luck with your project. Keep us posted.
    My geodesic oven project: part 1, part 2

Comment

DMUN