Filling the gaps with mortar

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Filling the gaps with mortar

Ok some I'm a newbie and have just finished the dome (see my build Scotty 36 sunshine coast, Australia) I'm not a master brick layer, I'm a helicopter pilot. Some of my joins on the oven side are not ideal, not terrible maybe 5mm gap here and there, can I just climb inside and use the same mortar to fill the gaps from the inside? I'm using a mix of fire clay/cement/lime/sand so far to stick the dome together. I have heard that cement can break down under xtreame heat, so would my planed mix work?!?
    The mix is 10 sand/6 fire clay/3 lime/2 cement.
    Thanks
    Scotty

Re: Filling the gaps with mortar

The consensus seems to be that any breakdown of the Portland cement is compensated for by the lime.
    The usual mix is sand, fireclay, lime, cement 3:1:1:1 Your brew is pretty close, but has more fireclay. Too much clay can create excessive shrinkage, but you should be ok.
    Kindled with zeal and fired with passion.

Comment

question about the heat could a person add more lime to the mix maybe like
      3:1:2:1 to help with the heat more ?????
      sigpic

Mike

Comment

Hi, I have just closed the dome on my 37-in Pompeii, and notice some mighty large gaps in the inside joints. Did you end up filling them, (I'm using refractory mortar), and if so, how? Did it work out well? Appreciate any responses!

Comment

Gudday
          I had the same and couldn't help myself and disregarded good advice and crawled in and patch a small section. They were right it didn't work and fell out.
          Just live with it,its a dome and is strong for that reason not pretty brickwork.
          Regards dave
          Measure twice
          Cut once
          Fit in position with largest hammer

My Build
          http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f51/...ild-14444.html
          My Door
          http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f28/...ock-17190.html

Comment