42" Started in Fountain Hills, Arizona

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 42" Started in Fountain Hills, Arizona

Hi all! I've been lurking lusting and learning tons here for years. I want to thank Forno Bravo for hosting such a site, as it gives many of us confidence and inspiration. I have FINALLY began my build, and thought an introduction was in order. I am an avid cook and enjoy all types of cuisine and artisan bread baking. I have always liked cooking with fire. We have a Big Green Egg which gets used about 3 - 4 times a week as well as a large chiminea in the garden elevated to table height where we do table side cooking. The WFO was the next logical step in playing with FIRE!!

As many of you have encountered getting a project like this off the ground can be challenging. My main challenge was WHERE to put our new oven. There were so many options. We have a great inviting garden with a few different location possibilities but proximity to the kitchen was not good. I was also concerned with possible fire hazard since we have lots of desert vegetation that is often very dry during the summer months. The other possibility was on our back patio, which initially I didn't seriously consider since it is somewhat small as it is, and it is a balcony (12 feet off the ground), so expanding out into the yard wasn't possible. We finally decided that there were more good reasons to build it on the patio that not to. Close to the kitchen, under the patio cover so weather is never an issue, also shaded during the build and has good lighting and the existing level steel reinforced concrete foundation. Any other location in the back yard/garden would require extensive excavation and retaining walls just to get to the foundation. Even with the oven on the smallish patio we can still host around 10 people (seated). We also decided that the little extra space required for a full size 42 over a 36 would not be an issue.