This is fascinating - the catenary arch

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• This is fascinating - the catenary arch

There may be an "ideal" dome profile for baking pizza in a pompeii oven, but that does not necessarily correspond to what is an "ideal" dome shape for structural stability.

The "catenary arch" is an arch profile which is essentially the inverted profile of a suspended chain. I'm not an engineer (someone who is please chime in and correct me), but as I understand it, when you take a lenth of chain and suspend it upside down, like a "U," it will naturally form a shape which reflects the varying gravitational stresses on the chain. Invert that profile, and this will provide a dome profile which is structually balanced.

Wikipedia says that the catenary arch is used to design kilns made of firebrick:

A kiln, a kind of oven for firing pottery, may be made from firebricks with a body in the shape of a catenary arch, usually nearly as wide as it is high, with the ends closed off with a permanent wall in the back and a temporary wall in the front. The bricks (mortared with fireclay) are stacked upon a temporary form in the shape of an inverted catenary, which is removed upon completion. The form is designed with a simple length of light chain, whose shape is traced onto an end panel of the form, which is inverted for assembly. A particular advantage of this shape is that it does not tend to dismantle itself over repeated heating and cooling cycles ? most other forms such as the vertical cylinder must be held together with steel bands.

The "flattened dome" used for cooking pizza is thus not a proper catenary arch. The issue is thus, whether you want long structural integrity or good pizza. I'll choose the latter.
    There is nothing quite so satisfying as drinking a cold beer, while tending a hot fire, in an oven that you built yourself, and making the best pizza that your friends have ever had.

Am I speaking in hyperbole?