Thermocouples -- what to do?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thermocouples -- what to do?

I've been researching thermocouples and I'm still unsure about them. Probably because I've no technical background at all.
    The Omega site left me even more dazed - so much information.
    For something that seems so simple it's just so confusing so bear with me as I ask some really basic questions. (if someone has an instuction guide link it might give me some better understanding)
    • Will I burn everything if i just go with a infrared thermometer. I thought one of the joys of an oven like this was like an old car - you got to know it's personality by breaking down in the middle of the night on a country road and you still loved it ....?
    • Exactly how are they installed? If I leave a hole in the hearth to feed the wires do the wires thread between the bricks or do I drill a hole to feed them through?
    • In the floor do they sit at the bottom of the brick, halfway up or poke out the top? Similar for those in the top of the oven
    • IF you've no idea like me, what kind of thermocouple wire do I get? And what type of reader is best if you use 4 wires?
    • If I don't install thermocouples while I'm building, can I put them in later when my feeble mind has understood the process?

Re: Thermocouples -- what to do?

I will try and help.

Thermocouples are not neccessary, hey how many pizzaria's use nothing but a hand. I put them in because I work with them every day and wanted to learn/explore the characteristics of my oven. OK I am a geek.

Putting them in later is quite possible but depends on where you want to put them and what type of enclosure you have.