Pizza Oven on a Trailer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pizza Oven on a Trailer

I'm really hoping someone can lend me some no-nonsense advice on how to build a better mobile brick oven. I've built two so far one from red-clay brick and portland mortar, and the second ( a vaulted design) from refractory brick and fireclay/portland mortar. Both have shaken apart within a few trips to catering gigs despite my use of straps/tie downs, and a well suspended trailer. I like the design the guys in Seattle (Veracci Pizza) have for their mobie ovens but they won't talk to me. I'm in NY so is guess I'm a threat to business. But I like the dome design much better than a vault and I would like to know where to research the different kinds of refractory materials out there that would best suit my needs. I'm a good builder but no mason. Another resume note is that I worked at a great wood-fired brick oven pizzaria here in NYC for a year so I know how to handle the oven and ingredients. I would find some info on how to build a well insulated dome oven that can stand the weather and a little abuse priceless. I'll fly you to my restaurant in Brooklyn and cook you a 9 course meal. kidding...but seriously help me please. someone....-dave

Re: Pizza Oven on a Trailer

There may be a serious difficulty with a real brick oven in a vibrational environment. Even those of us with ovens on solid masonry foundations have cracking in the dome, just from the thermal shock of heating and cooling.

A few observations:

A hemispherical dome is inherently stronger that the vaulted box design. The vaulted bread ovens have lots of concrete cladding on the outside to provide strength and buttressing, as well as thermal mass that you don't need in a pizza oven.