Interesting phenomenon using a New York Style Pizza dough

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interesting phenomenon using a New York Style Pizza dough

I'm a relatively new pizza baker using a pizza stone that I bought that I think was made by Echo in one of those 3 pizza packages ( a thin baking stone, a rack for the stone and a pizza cutter that's practically useless) that you see almost everywhere. I noticed when I baked this style of pizza that the top and bottom bakes fine, but the middle is slightly raw (50% cooked). I have no idea how to solve this problem so I was wondering if anyone could suggest ways to fix it. The pizza was baked at 450 degrees Fahrenheit for 20 minutes (it was a "family sized" pizza on a stone 13-14 inches in diameter. Any suggestions would be appreciated .

Thank you.

Re: Interesting phenomenon using a New York Style Pizza dough

Heat stone to maximum your oven will allow. This is usually 500 to 550 degress for at least 45 minutes.

Comment

A thin stone may not have much ability to retain heat, I don't know that heating longer will make much difference, but certainly should try higher oven temp. I think those thin stones are pretty worthless and will crack in short order if you are not very careful. They perform no better than a perforated metal pizza pan. Consider picking up some firebrick splits to replace the stone, or better yet buy the real stone from FB.com.

Comment

In addition to fully heating your stone (like Richard suggests), think about how much sauce/topping gets put on the pie. Too much and you can get uncooked crust like you describe.

What do you mean (in terms of color) by "top and bottom bakes fine". Perhaps a little more time on the stone would help.

Comment