Homemade Brick WFO

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Homemade Brick WFO

I am a ceramics teacher. Making my own bricks for the dome of my Pompeii oven. I have been recycling scrap clay (a really groggy type of stoneware) that would normally be discarded, making my own uniquely curved bricks and using some large open cell styrofoam blocks that have been pieced together to create my shape. The clay is run through a pug mill, will be placed, numbered, dried, deconstructed, fired and then pieced back together in my backyard. I then plan to clad it with cer. fiber blankie, chicken wire, and then do some probably really bad brick masonry for a protective "shell". I would love to hear any suggestions or any ohnoyoudont's......I am a newb. But I know clay and I love pizza!
    Crazed Dawg Buck

Re: Homemade Brick WFO

It will cost you a small fortune to fire that much mass of clay. Unless of course you can get someone else to pay for the firing. What temperature are you intending to fire your bricks to? Be careful, those thick bricks will take a lot of drying. Try weighing them, if they are uniform in size, to determine if they're dry inside before attempting to fire them.
    Kindled with zeal and fired with passion.

Comment

You will also get some shrinkage (as I am sure you know), so you should build your form that much bigger.

Comment

Agreed. The drying time will be long. I will slow fire them, which will help.