Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My 42" Pompeii Oven Build in West Michigan

Photos of my 42" wood fired oven build.

I've been learning about building a WFO on this site since Feb 2015, and finally broke ground on April 15. I'm nearly finished now, so I wanted to document my steps and things I learned during the last seven months. It turned out to be a lot of work, but I can honestly say that it has been a very enjoyable and rewarding experience.

As you can see, I'm not quite done but pretty close. I need to install a soffit and trim along the top of the brick, but that's about all that's left. It has been functional (although unfinished) since July 2015, and has seen use several days per week since that time.

It's not just for pizza. We've used it to make the best tasting pizza we've had, ribs, roast chicken, risotto, bacon, roast peppers, steak, burgers, bread, vegetables, frittatas, apple crisp and probably a few other things. Everything tastes better in the wood fired oven! We're looking forward to making our whole Thanksgiving dinner in it as well.

Very nice! Be sure to post a link to your gallery so we can see the steps you took to build this fine oven!
    Forno Bravo

Comment

My boys (Jake and Luke) and I were eager to start building the oven. After we removed the soil, we filled the hole with gravel. Rebar was added and then many bags of cement mixed to pour the foundation. We used the dimensions given in the free Forno Bravo Pompeii plans for the foundation. This is a good time for me to say thanks to Forno Bravo for providing me the information and community to learn how to build a WFO. Before this project, I had never laid a brick. It would have been impossible for me to complete this without the resources and tips from fellow builder's on this site.
      Last edited by rrfsgh; 11-17-2015, 08:45 PM.

Comment