Photos of my Pizza oven build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Photos of my Pizza oven build

Hi everybody, this is a link to my Google photos of my patio and pizza oven build. The patio is flagstone from Rocky mountain River bedrock. The pizza oven is made from the forno bravo plans provided on the website. It has a 40-in interior, and an 18 and 1/2-in door opening.

The concrete slab is 12 in thick and has 100 ft of 3/4 in rebar. I think I overbuilt everything on this, but I've never done anything like it before so I figured it's better to overdo than underdo. I had read a post on here a long time ago where someone talked about their pizzas were soggy, and it was because there was not enough insulation in the floor. I did not want something like that to happen to me, so I did as much as possible to make sure I would have no issues.

The floor itself is sitting on top of 2-in fiber ceramic board. Starting from the inner layer of the dome, it is fire brick, refractive mortar, 2 in of ceramic blanket, 2 in of pearlite, and then 2 in of white cement.

It is not shown in these photos, but to weather seal it I used broken Mexican tiles and created a mosaic look. After that I sealed the entire oven with a cement sealant from home Depot. It is definitely 100% waterproof.

When the fire is at full temperature, you can place your hand on the dome and it is cold. The steel chimney I got off Amazon. It is actually a double walled and insulated chimney that is made to be part of a chimney that goes from the inside of your house to the outside of the house through a wall. I looked at other chimneys, and they were so expensive. I believe this one was $180, plus maybe 40 or $50 for the cap. It is beautiful quality.