Japan Newbie!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Japan Newbie!

Hello all! I'm completely new to oven making and working with materials like concrete and brick haha! But I'm living in Japan in a small town that's famous for its ninja clan! There is a real lack of decent pizza places in my area and the options that are here charge an obscene amount for something similar to Dominos. We're talking about $25 - $30 for a large pizza! Not to mention that a Japanese large is an American medium!

So I've taken it upon myself to learn to build my own wood-fired oven! I would love to cook pies for friends and family and really stick it to the man! I think it would be a fun project and something that would really improve my quality of life! I'm looking forward to talking with all of you!

Re: Japan Newbie!

Welcome and you are in the right place.
    What type of oven did you have in mind?

Texman
    Texman Kitchen
    http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f8/t...ild-17324.html

Comment

If you are in this to save money the payback curve may be quite long. But the value of eating pizza better than Dominos is more than worth the extra cost.

Welcome, and looking forward to your build.
      Chip

Comment

Welcome to, I MUST say, the best place to be for all things wood fired oven.
        This site as no doubt you already know, probably having trawled it yourself before joining up, provides almost everything you need to know. And if not all you need to do is ask.

Be really interested in knowing your plan towards the best pizza in Japan. Notwithstanding laurentis and mikku
        Cheers Colin

My Build - Index to Major Build Stages

Comment

[QUOTE=mrchipster;161095]If you are in this to save money the payback curve may be quite long. But the value of eating pizza better than Dominos is more than worth the extra cost.

I have to laugh and agree if I live to be 90 and eat pizza once a week I can get down to about $5.00

Comment

Welcome Wing70301!