Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings!

Hello,

I just joined the forum after quite a bit of research in the books and other online forums.

I am a decent amateur cook in several genres but especially like baking. My baking preference tends toward wild yeast cultures and rustic breads of many kinds. Right now I am using a residential oven with a baking stone. I think I am starting to outgrow it - not in terms of size or volume but in lack of temperature. My breads are okay, but pizza (my passion) is good but less than perfect.

Sometime in the future I would like to build a brick oven. After looking at the Alan Scott and Russell Jervon designs, I found the Pompeii. The Pompeii looks like the oven for me! The thoughts of having a brick oven that can be brought to temp in a relatively short time and will support the needs of my family - three or four pizzas and a couple of loaves of bread once or twice a week - consume most of my spare thinking time. At the present I'm "negotiating" the idea with my spouse and thinking through one challenge associated with the proposed site.

Brian

Re: Greetings!

Good luck to you! I think you will find great help and advice from all members of the forum!
    Best
    Dutch
    "Making the simple complicated is commonplace; making the complicated simple, awesomely simple, that's creativity. " Charles Mingus
    "Build at least two brick ovens...one to make all the mistakes on and the other to be just like you dreamed of!" Dutch

Comment

Re: Greetings!

Welcome Brian,
      I was in your situation a few months ago and have just cleaned up after anotheer big family cook-up for 16 people and 24 pizzas and numerous other pita bread concoctions, the pompeii is still hot enough to continue cooking even 7 hours after lighting it.
      You can cook mant loaves per batch and numerous batches with each good firing.