Planning a 42" oven build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Planning a 42" oven build

Hello all, my name is Jason and I am in the planning phase for a 42" oven build once the ground unthaws here in upstate New York. I am a competent carpenter, though I don't consider myself a mason, I have done quite a bit of masonry work. I downloaded the plans as a guide, which I plan on sticking fairly close to. Just have a few questions. The plans don't mention footings below the frost line. I would think I would need these here in NY, am I correct? The rest of the build is in my skill range except for choice of the appropriate refractory materials, specifically mortar. I found a castable firebrick cement made by A.W. Perkins that says it is rated to 2,200 degrees 100$ for 50 lbs. would this make for a suitable mortar for layup of my firebrick? I would think it would tolerate the wide gaps between the brick on the outside well. My other question is about setting up my trammel. What height do I set my pivot point at to get a true prabolic dome? I'm thinking it would be level with the tops of my soldiers, am I correct here? Lastly I would like to incorporate some type of thermometer probe for internal temperature that I would like to be able to read on the outside. Has anyone done this? That is all I have for now.

Thanks!
    Jason

The prevailing though is that if you need footings in your area then that is what you should do. But that topic always brings up a lot of controversy. I live in MN and I did not do footings and so far have seen no frost heave. On the other hand my brother in law had a new apron poored this fall and it heaved 2" by x-mas, so I think a lot has to do with soil type. If you have a lot of clay you better do footings.

As for the mortar I would recommend the home brew. It works great and is cheap. It is 3,1,1,1 sand ,hyd lime,fire clay and portland cement.