ultra shoestring budget pizza oven

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ultra shoestring budget pizza oven

Hi All! I have started the base for my oven using rocks and boulders gathered from my property and around the area(and my back is not very happy about it).
    I'll throw in a bit of my history/ bio. Chef/baker by trade, have used many types of wfo as well as commercial gas fired hearth ovens. One of my favorites is a clay cob behive style oven built by volunteers for a historical reenactment village in Columbia state park in northern California gold country. It has a huge limestone base and was built with locally gathered clay. Many layers were built up, with lots of straw cob. The walls are probably 8-10 inches thick. It takes about 3 hours to heat up, but will cook steadily for 5-6 hours. My plan is to make a hybrid. I have been lurking on these forums for a while and have gleaned lots of information. As the title states ultra low budget, but I am going to create an outdoor kitchen that will have a built in barbecue smoker and grill alongside the oven. The base of boulders and rocks is very rustic and has been a challenge (some of the boulders are probably 400-500 pounds) . I set the first course of the largest rocks into concrete(no slab, using an area where there used to be an above ground Swimming pool, so it is nice and level with a good base of sand and gravel. Because I have been using my indigenous rock that is a mix of granite like fieldstone and slate/shale mortared together. The hardest part has been to reach a level finish point because of the odd shapes and sizes. I'm pretty close to finishing up the oven side(with a wood storage cavity).