Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building oven whilst Coronavirus in NYC

Hello everyone,

I am new here. I started building my oven beginning of March, however due to Coronavirus hitting NYC hard, I had trouble going out to get products or even order them online because they would take forever to ship. My biggest concern is insulation in the base of the oven and overall insulation. I was able to get rockwool heat resistant up to 2300 degrees Fahrenheit I believe. I placed this on the bottom of the oven which was about 4-5 inches thick, then put a fence over it to pour concrete mixed with perlite. Over that layer I placed concrete bricks to make it more stable because it was bouncy. Then I poured bond mixed with perlite over the concrete and placed the 1inch fire bricks. Is this enough insulation for the base of the oven or will it not hold in enough heat for the base? Would greatly appreciate the advice. By the way, I have no knowledge about building or construction. So please don’t judge if I did everything completely wrong

Welcome to the forum and glad to see you have been approved to post. I'd recommend pausing your build till you can get feedback on what you have done. Pictures of where you are at right now would really help anybody that had suggestions. Would also help if you had links or better descriptions of the products you are using, like the insulation and your bricks. I can say right now that a 1" layer of thermal mass for the floor is not going to give you much extended cooking time. You should also spend some of the quarantine time reading some build threads to see what others have done - I am not sure I have seen any builders take the approach you have described so far.
    My build thread
    https://community.fornobravo.com/for...h-corner-build

Comment