Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Intorduction

Hi everyone,

Well, it is a very exciting time for our family as we are about to close on our first home! One of my dreams has been to have a wonderful outdoor patio complete with stone bbq and a wood fired oven. We live in Massachusetts, so of course weather plays a factor here, but I'm hoping I can glean some information from fellow enthusiasts here so that we do everything right when the time comes to build our outdoor kitchen.

My name is Fred, by the way. I'm 28 and I'm a web developer. My wife and I are both big foodies and I think a great gift is to start planning a wonderful space for relaxing and enjoying company when the weather is good as well as being able to enjoy those crisp fall nights.

So, here is our project goal:

1 outdoor fireplace with the ability to let us bbq (so some sort of removable bbq grate feature in case we just want to enjoy the fire pit itself)
    1 wood fired oven

We'd love to have anyone and everyone weigh in on our plans. I know a wood fired oven is definitely going to handle a good amount of our cooking needs (pizza, as well as my love for baking breads) but we also love our grilling and barbeque as well, so we'll want to install both. Is there a reason not to do that? has anyone else done something similar? Also, being in the northeast, we'll need to consider the frostline and making sure that everything stands the test of time in terms of avoiding frost heaving issues and such.

I'm eager to learn from the folks here. Thanks for reading!

Fred

Re: Intorduction

Welcome, Fred. The grill over the fireplace in a new idea here, you may want a raised hearth so you aren't bent over for your grilling. If you aren't grilling for the multitudes, the little legged grill called the Tuscan grill is what a lot of folks use here: The coals underneath and the heat from the dome cook both sides of the meat at once.