Absolute Newbie needs advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Absolute Newbie needs advice

I sincerely appreciate all advice to the following questions.

I am having my patio redone by a professional contractor. I want a pizza oven built-in to a larger masonry structure. In order to do this does the contractor need to purchase a pizza oven, and then insulate and do the masonry structure around it? if so, which pizza oven is best for this residential application? I am looking at the Artigiano model. Is the 31" too small?

Re: Absolute Newbie needs advice

Hi Ron and welcome aboard.
    As one who built a 40" Pompeii, I feel that anything much less would be a disadvantage. A small oven has limited capacity but might be all that you need.
    It really all depends on what you plan to do with your oven. Also remember, that since you will have one, it won't be used just for cooking pizzas, but for anything and everything. A 31" oven will only let you cook 3 pizzas (smaller) similtaneously with a fire still burning on the side whereas a 36" would allow 4 or 5 pizzas, (again smaller ones as I do - around 9-10").

Cheers.

Neill
    Prevention is better than cure, - do it right the first time!

The more I learn, the more I realise how little I know

Neill’s Pompeiii #1
    http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f8/n...-1-a-2005.html
    Neill’s kitchen underway
    http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f35/...rway-4591.html

Comment

Ron,
      Neill brought up the most important point - what exactly are your intentions for the oven?
      Here are the key points for me:
      1) Pizza only? Typically, how many people will you be cooking for?
      2) Are you looking to bake large loads of bread?
      3) are you planning alot of lower heat cooking such as roasting? Again, typically how many people.