Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tapered Bricks?

Hi All,
    Newbie question... I noticed several WFO builders in this site using "tapered" fire bricks. My question is this - if you go this route are you wasting roughly 1/2 of every brick? I mean, once you cut a tapered brick in half is the back half used? I suppose you could use the back half's saw-cut face inside the oven but I came to believe that is not a good idea and to be avoided. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Re: Tapered Bricks?

Originally posted by Jethro View Post
    I suppose you could use the back half's saw-cut face inside the oven but I came to believe that is not a good idea and to be avoided.
    There is a lot of scrap. In regard to the exposed cut, I heard the same thing. Every single brick inside my dome has the cut face exposed. I've been using the oven for over 2 1/2 years with no sign of problems.
    Check out my pictures here:
    http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f8/les-build-4207.html

If at first you don't succeed... Skydiving isn't for you.

Comment

Ok - there are "wedges" and "arches". The back half of a wedge would seem to be waste. However, if you bifurcate an arch brick you get 2 usable half bricks. The difference lies in the orientation of the taper.
      Last edited by Jethro; 05-17-2011, 08:06 AM.

Comment

I cut all my bricks in half, then tapered them. Exposed cuts inside the oven may theoretically be a bad idea, but my experience is the same as Les'; no problems.
        Ken H. - Kentucky
        42" Pompeii

Pompeii Oven Construction Video Updated!

Oven Thread ... Enclosure Thread
        Cost Spreadsheet ... Picasa Web Album

Comment

A perfect fit dome leaves a lot of brick on the floor, or the saw pan as the case may be. It's certainly not half of every brick. You don't, however, have the option of using a single cut to create two wedges.