Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dough not rising

Hi All:

I am new to making pizzas, I have a Mario Batali Oven, I only used 3 times.
    So far the best recipe I found was fromm this forums' pizza PDF download with the "auotlyse" method. I am using Caputo flour and following the recipe by weight. Except the yeast which I can't weight being only 3 grams.

I have a couple of questions

1- I can't seem to get the dough to rise (I think it's supposed to) the pizzas come out great anyway.

2- The recipe does not say anything about "proofing" the yeast if that is the correct term for putting the yeast in warm water (100 F) or so to let it bubble. So I am not doing it.

3- I have a very hard time trying to stretch the pizza dough, and I don't want to use the rolling pin so any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for the help!!

Gualex

Re: Dough not rising

First, use INSTANT yeast. If you are using regular dry active yeast, it needs to be proofed. Instant does not. 3 grams is a bit more than a teaspoon. A teaspoon is close enough.

IMO Caputo needs to be balled before the autolyse so it can relax before forming pies. AP is more cooperative! If you are having too much trouble with the Caputo even with the early balling you may need to raise the hydration 4 or 5 percent.

Good Luck!
    Jay

Comment

I will second everthing Jay has said and also add that if you refrigerate your Caputo several hrs or overnight, give it plenty of time to reach room temps, around 2 hrs, not just 1 hr that I have seen mentioned, The extra time really relaxes the dough and makes workability much better. When I am in a hurry I use a 60% Caputo 40% AP blend that works realy well. you can make it and be usable within 1hr -1 1/2 hr. it gives you the ease of workability fron the AP and the finished crust of the Caputo. anything more than 40% ap tends to get a bit too chared at 750+degrees unless you are very carefull.
      RT

Comment

My method.