Help for newbie in oz

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help for newbie in oz

I've been bitten by the bug and am keen to get a WFO in my backyard.

There seems to be plenty of info around how to build the slab and the oven itself, (thanks to this forum amongst others) but I'm having trouble with respect to getting some good info on building the base.

If I were to build the base out of cinder blocks for example - do I need to fill every cavity with cement and rebar or just every third or fourth?

I've little experience in laying bricks/blocks but have seen you can get some spacers to assist in getting all the gaps between each course identical, are there any more tips anyone can share for a novice?

I've built a small wall with hebel many years ago and found this easy to work with and cut - are hebel products strong enough to build a base out of?

Any all advice appreciated

Re: Help for newbie in oz

You could use Hebel, but it is expensive. Standard concrete blocks are cheaper and have better availability. If you mortar the first course of blocks and get them positioned and level, then you can use a masonry adhesive like Selleys liquid nails-landscape, for the rest. Filling every second void with concrete and rebar should be sufficient. If you use 6" blocks rather than 8" you will save a lot of time and effort because there's way less to fill.
    Kindled with zeal and fired with passion.

Comment

You 'dry stack' the blocks - no mortar - then fill. Its a good idea to fill the corners (end blocks) then every second one. Makes it very strong and stable. I actually used polyurethane construction adhesive (PL500) between the blocks, like mortar, but only real thin. Once that sets up, the blocks won't move during the pour.

Comment

Gudday

Like mingy said Can't get easier.....stack the bock up like leggo and fill every
        2nd core. Strong simple ....cheap

Regards Dave

PS have you a copy of the Free plans?
        Measure twice