Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Choosing oven - 28" vs 32" and heat up times

Hey guys,

I am not really a newbie but this seems to be the area to post such a question.
    I currently have a 40" WFO recently finished but suddenly find myself having to move house.
    I plan to build a new modular oven at the new house and I am trying to decide what size.
    I find my 40" oven to be great but with a 1.5 hour heat up time you chew through a lot of wood and would not be used as much as a smaller oven that heats up quicker. I also find I do not need such a big oven as I have only done 1 pizza at a time so far (though plan to try 2 at a time this weekend).

I am thinking of going a 28" or 32" oven.
    The 32" oven will probably let me do two pizzas at a time while the 28" will only have room for one.
    The big kicker here though is that the heat up time for the Giardino70 28" oven is 20 minutes, while the Casa2G80 32" oven is 40 minutes!
    That's a massive increase for only 4" more room.
    I think the much faster heat up time in the 28" will mean I will use it a lot more and burn lot less wood.
    I understand those heat up time figures are probably inaccurate and way too short for Neapolitan pizza. I wonder if anyone has more accurate numbers?
    Even if it is 40 mins for the 28" and 1 hour for the 32" that is a fair amount of time and wood saving.

Anyone care to comment?
    Also keen to hear from 28" and 32" oven owners as to heat up times.

Thanks

Re: Choosing oven - 28" vs 32" and heat up times

G'day
    You'll use less wood sure, as these ovens are roughly 1/4 smaller than what you have. You'll find that being smaller the walls and floor will be roughly the same mass but the amount of room you have to burn wood in is smaller so heat up times will remain the same.