Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I need advice regarding what oven size would be best for our family.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need advice regarding what oven size would be best for our family.

I am a complete newbie to all of this. I'd like to build a Pompeii oven and I have downloaded the plans. In the plans is says this regarding choosing between the oven size of 36" vs 42":

"If you have the space and budget, we recommend building
    the larger oven. The larger oven gives you the most
    flexibility, can be easier to use, and does not stop you
    from cooking smaller amounts of food. Remember that
    while you can cook less in a larger oven, you cannot cook
    more in a smaller oven.

I have room to build the larger 42" oven. But I wanted to check to see if it does in fact make the most sense in my particular case. We are a family of 4. Even when we entertain, I rarely cook for more than a dozen people.

We would be looking for an oven to cook a wide variety of things rather than just pizza. I'd like to use the oven often, like I do now with my grill. I'm a guy who uses a grill year-round in all weather (even in the coldest months of winter). I'd like to do the same with a wood oven too, if it's not a super long hassle to get cooking. I could see me using it after work, just relaxing as I putter around with it. I love to cook outside.

1. Is there much difference in time to fire up the 42" oven versus the 36"? Or are they about the same? Would a 36" be a better match for my situation?
    2. Is there much difference in the amount of wood used between the two sizes? Or are they about the same?

I was thinking of building the high-vault Tuscan oven either way. But regarding the oven size, I'm unsure of what would be the best choice for us. Thank you VERY much in advance for any advice you can give me.