Rain protection for a Primavera 70

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rain protection for a Primavera 70

I am a complete newbie with my Primavera 70 being installed in the next couple of weeks. The rainy season is beginning in the Northern California and I was wondering whether I need to cover the chimney or oven opening in order to avoid having water enter the cooking area.

I would if it were me. A tarp and or an Easy up tent will help a lot. Keep her covered until final installation and after during any long term wet spells.
    Joe Watson " A year from now, you will wish that you had started today" My Build Album / My Build

Comment

Joe or aka Gulf also has made a storm door for his oven that sits flush with the outer opening to minimize water from entering the oven opening. I second, that you need the really need to protect the oven from rain during construction, especially the insulation.
      Russell
      Google Photo Album [https://photos.google.com/share/AF1Q...JneXVXc3hVNHd3/]

Comment

I've found that using a bucket over the chimney stack helps when covering your oven with the tarp (much less apt to tear/rip at the top when you tie the tarp down tight). I'm assuming that you bought the stand with the Primavera, so extending the tarp down and securing it below oven platform would be pretty easy. Also, you'll want to think about acquiring a chimney cap with an ash/cinder screen for your chimney pipe. It would certainly provide some significant piece of mind... especially with all the fire issues we have had this last year. (It might even be a requirement this coming year.)
        Mike Stansbury - The Traveling Loafer
        Roseburg, Oregon

FB Forum: The Dragonfly Den build thread
        Available only if you're logged in = FB Photo Albums-Select media tab on profile
        Blog: http://thetravelingloafer.blogspot.com/

Comment

Thanks Mike,