Building a pizza oven in a hedge!It

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building a pizza oven in a hedge!It

Okay, total newbie here but as we are in CV19 lockdown I have decided to build a pizza oven.

My question - I want to build my oven in our treed hedge! It is the best place for me as we have a long rather narrow section and the hedge surrounds our seating area. Now is there any danger (of Fire etc) building my oven half in the hedge? It will be a dome style and will be very well insulated. External size will be about 1 meter across. Is this big enough for us (like entertaining and love pizza). Thanks all, and hi from France!

Welcome. Although I don't know what your hedge looks like, you shouldn't have any heat issues. Properly insulated, heat will only radiate from the opening and from your chimney/vent pipe.
    I highly recommend a spark arrestor when you get to that point.
    I made a similar consideration and positioned my oven almost on top of a giant bird of paradise that I did not want to remove. The back of the dome is also less than a meter from my house for that matter.
    I've attached a photo of my oven and its proximity to the giant bird.

Good luck, post photos of your progress.

- George

My Build
    https://community.fornobravo.com/for...mente-ca-build

Comment

Thanks so much for the reply! Ok next question... have seen so many of these Ooni ovens - I know that they are portable BUT the shape intrigues me! Is there any reason to stop building an Ooni shape oven in Clay (to make it a permanent oven)? Or am I missing something here... still do like the Igloo shape though....

Comment

I believe the Ooni is basically what is referred to as a 'barrel vault' style oven. Do a forum search and you will find plenty of info, examples and pros/cons.