Greetings

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings

Hello all. I live in Wisconsin. I love pizza (as I bet everyone here does).

Is anyone interested in, or does anyone have experience in, making gluten-free pizza dough? I'm not finding much information on this. I've tried using my regular recipe substituting rice flour and it's edible, but not very good.

Any help would be appreciated.

Re: Greetings

I have been making a gluten free pizza for my daughter for a couple of months. I don't have the recipe with me at the moment but I'll post it here tomorrow.
    It works but it is kind of wierd. Its only saving grace is that it is better than no pizza. The dough comes out like mashed potatoes. i end up spreading it on a pizza stone like I am icing a cake. Then adding the sauce and cheese.
    Sharpei Diem.....Seize the wrinkle dog

Comment

Why gluten free? Allergies? Gastric intolerance? I'm out of my league on this topic.
      GJBingham
      -----------------------------------
      Everyone makes mistakes. The trick is to make mistakes when nobody is looking.

-

Comment

Does it have to entirely gluten-free? I read that spelt has less gluten than regular flour and can be eaten by people with allergies - or maybe if you just mixed in a bit of it?

Flour made of potatoes, millet, corn or chick peas is supposed to be ok... but you probably know more about this than I do. I'm thinking that a mixture of some of these flours might work better than pure rice flour (which I personally think tastes pretty nasty anyway).

Keep posting about it, and good luck finding a recipe! I'm sure a good gluten free dough recipe woud be an asset to the forum.
        "Building a Brick oven is the most fun anyone can have by themselves." (Terry Pratchett... slightly amended)

http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f8/p...pics-2610.html
        http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f9/p...nues-2991.html

Comment