Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can you make an oven dome with a 3:2:2:.5 mix (gravel, refractory, sand and lime)?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can you make an oven dome with a 3:2:2:.5 mix (gravel, refractory, sand and lime)?

Hey guys. Total noob here. I was interested in making a pizza dome by using a 3 parts gravel, two parts sand, two parts refractory cement and 0.5 parts lime mix. Castable cement is extremely expensive/unavailable where I am so this would be more budget-friendly. Will this work? Or will it not be strong enough? I would like to try packing it rather than casting it.

Thanks!

Most gravel is a not advised imo. Many types will cause mini explosions causing spalling under the intense heat. david s has answered many similar questions to yours. I'm not sure what you mean by "packing" but the "home brew recipe" is very economical. Check out some of the recent cast ovens on the site for the recipe
    Joe Watson " A year from now, you will wish that you had started today" My Build Album / My Build

Comment

Any untested mix you design for yourself is an unknown regarding its success. Castable refractory which contains refractory cement combined with fine high temperature aggregates, burn out fibres and other goodies in a secret recipe that companies won’t divulge, is expensive and refractory suppliers e homebrew offer a number of different products depending on its service application. Generally these castables are overkill as they are designed for service temperatures around double what we require for a WFO.
      The homebrew (3:1:1:1) has been around for eons and proved itself ideal and in fact superior to refractory mortar for WFOs. For this reason I suggested it’s use as a cheap castable around 10 years ago, not knowing how it would stand the test of time. We’ve not had any reports of massive failure from builders, so I guess it’s proved itself.