Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Pizza ovens, mould problem after 1st use

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Wood Fired Pizza Ovens. I am not a handy person so my wife and I decided to buy a ready made pizza oven. We also wanted one that was portable so that we could move it around if the weather was bad.

We decided on a pizza oven manufactured in Western Australia and had it transported accross the Nulabor to Sydney. We realised when we got it that it was a very heavy oven and we weren't going to be able to move it around as we had first hoped.

Anyway on the first use of the oven I didn't get it quite hot enough and the pizzas didn't cook properly. Some cheese was spilt on the oven floor that I didn't realise. A couple of days after the first use I looked inside the oven and found mould growing in there. I removed the mould and cleaned the area with vinegar (not wanting to use and toxic chemicals). The mould grew back!!!!!

The floor of the oven is bricks sitting on what I think (remember I am not a builder or handy person) is fibrous cement. For that reason I don't want to go flooding the floor of the oven with huge amounts of liquid. One website I found recomended soaking a pizza stone with mould on it in bleach. Another website on building Pizza ovens recomends cleaning by heat, just build another fire.

Could somebody please help me!!!!!! Any information will be greatfully recieved.

Thank you
    Paul

PS I posted this post before and I didn't see it come up on the forum so I did it again. I appologise if it did work and this is a repeat.

Re: New to Pizza ovens, mould problem after 1st use

fire it up. As long as it's cured then bring on the fire. This will burn of any cheese residue. The mold will also burn away. If the oven has not been cured properly and has moisture in it then you have to go thew a series of small fires to cure or dry out the oven.

I hope its not our in the rain unsealed and unprotected
    sigpic

Comment