Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

anyone with first hand experience and stainless firebacks?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• anyone with first hand experience and stainless firebacks?

I built an outdoor fireplace and would like to maximize my heat output (and maximixe the amount of time i can use it through the year).

I have been reading about firebacks, but most of the articles are from places that sell them (biased). I am a welder so i can make a custom sized stainless fireback for my fireplace, but don't want to go to the time and effort if there is little or no reward.

it makes sense that it would reflect the heat outward, but I would also think that it would get sooty/blackend and may diminish the effect.

does anyone have first hand experience with before/after addition of a stainless fireback?

Thanks
    Caspian

Re: anyone with first hand experience and stainless firebacks?

Stainless moves a lot on heating and could cause you problems. 19th century fireplaces used cast iron extensively.
    Kindled with zeal and fired with passion.

Comment

I saw the cast iron ones, but i think the theory behind those is that the cast iron absorbs the heat then when the fire dies down, the cast iron releases the heat in the room as it cools.

since this is for outdoor use, i'm not really worried about the heat after the fire goes out. I am looking to maximize and directionalize (if thats a word) heat while the fire is going.

Comment

I've seen the stainless done with indoor gas fireplaces and it really throws out the heat. Great looking too, if you're into the modern look. I would think that if your burning wood it would blacken the stainless and you would lose quite a bit of the heat reflection... don't really know for wood. For gas it was beautiful and effective.

Comment

Originally posted by okn View Post