Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Any experience with MOLINO FARINO TIPO #OO flour?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any experience with MOLINO FARINO TIPO #OO flour?

Hi All,

So I have two Italian markets that are "sort of" whiten striking distance from me. The closer of the two carry's the small Caputo 00 red bags but they run out frequently. The other store which is a more proper market carry's another brand which I have no experience with, Molino Farnio #00.

Browsing Store - MOLINO FARINO TIPO #OO 1KILO PIZZA FLOUR

Just curious if anyone has anyone has used this before and if it might be worth going out of my way to stock up.

Thanks!

Re: Any experience with MOLINO FARINO TIPO #OO flour?

Caputo 00 flour is the gold standard for Neapolitan pies, but needs higher temps to perform well. If you're going to stock up, Chef's Warehouse in the City of Industry will charge you .67/lb (vs Claro's $1.80/lb) for a 25k bag. I store mine in freezer bags that start in the freezer and get moved to sealed 5gal plastic buckets.

I'm not familiar with the Molino Farino 00 designation, only Antimo 00. I think the small red bag you want has the image of a pizza on it.

Comment

Originally posted by GianniFocaccia View Post
      Caputo 00 flour is the gold standard for Neapolitan pies, but needs higher temps to perform well. If you're going to stock up, Chef's Warehouse in the City of Industry will charge you .67/lb (vs Claro's $1.80/lb) for a 25k bag. I store mine in freezer bags that start in the freezer and get moved to sealed 5gal plastic buckets.

I'm not familiar with the Molino Farino 00 designation, only Antimo 00. I think the small red bag you want has the image of a pizza on it.
      Thank you very much, I had heard about Chef's Warehouse but did not realize that there was such a substantial price differnce.

Industry is a bit of a haul from Huntington Beach but I will definitely make it a priority next time i'm going through LA.