Clear All

• Forno Bravo dough problems

Here is the recipe I am using from the Forno Bravo E-books

4 cups Caputo OO flour
    1 1/2 C water + 2-3 Tbs
    4 teaspoons sea salt
    1 packet dry yeast

I am using a baking stone in an oven.

I mix the flour and the water. Wait the 20 minutes for the autolyse process. I add the sea salt and yeast and mix the exact time with my Kitchen Aid mixer.
    I let it rise for at least 2 hours. I use a rolling pin to roll out the dough. I am not achieving a chewy, bubbly, or corniche like crust whatsoever. My pizza does not taste bad but it is not characteristic at all of good, chewy pizza crusts. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I am doing wrong?

Longer autolyse period?
    Not using a rolling pin?
    Not proofing long enough?

Thanks Jason

Re: Forno Bravo dough problems

I'm not an expert on dough, but skip the rolling pin and see if you like it any better.
    Lee B.
    DFW area, Texas, USA

If you are thinking about building a brick oven, my advice is Here.

I try to learn from my mistakes, and from yours when you give me a heads up.

Comment

Originally posted by jecrab View Post

mix the exact time with my Kitchen Aid mixer.
      Thanks Jason
      Hi Jason,
      I have not found an exact time for kneading/mixing, doughs are not governed by time (although a set time serves as a good reference point) they are dependent on temperature, moisture content, and gluten content. Using the same flour (Caputo 00) will keep the gluten level consitent, after that you are at the mercy of the dough Gods! If you are kneading in the Kitchen Aid mixer, what size is the mixer? My wife says size... oh another topic.