Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Firebrick slabs - time to heat up?

Gday all,

Planning a new build, my first, and i'm not an expert on firebricks so bear with me.

I was wondering if a 50mm thick firebrick slab would take long to heat up and pass heat through to above when heated by a fire underneath?

The reason is because i'm building a parrilla (argentinean bbq) with a firebox area and hoping to have a small warming oven above the fire. It could be made from the large firebrick slabs that Claypave sell (450 x 300 x 50 thk) spanning from wall to wall. The internal dimensions of the oven would be 370w x 300 h x 300 deep. It would be like an enclosed little cube with firebricks on all sides, with a door on the front. The fire heats up the bottom firebrick slab, but the smoke from the fire passes up behind the back and out the top chimney.

Is this a feasible idea or would it take all day for heat to pass through the 50thk slab? For a standard asado/bbq the fire will be going for a few hours. It would be great to have somewhere to heat up some bread/veg, potatoes etc.

Cheers.

Re: Firebrick slabs - time to heat up?

Hi Harro,
    Yes, I believe your idea will work quite well, but as the firebrick will not be insulated you can expect that your oven won't retain the heat you pump into it. Additionally, if I understand your concept correctly, you will also probably find that the floor of your oven will be way hotter than the top, although this will be compensated by heats tendency to rise. I suspect that your oven would be ok for a batch of bread or a roast, but never hot enough for pizza. If you got the floor hot enough to cook the base ok the top of the pizza would not cook properly.could you post a drawing?
    Kindled with zeal and fired with passion.

Comment

Hi David,

Thanks for your response. Here's a rough sketch, hopefully you can make out whats in my head!

There will be doors on the front of the oven box and the firebox.