Proofing Basket Help Needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Proofing Basket Help Needed

I bought a few of the $2 baskets from Empire Baking Company and tried to use them this past weekend. I am an inexperienced baker on all accounts, so I downloaded the e-book, and read up as much as possible.

Well, apparently, I missed some crucial step, as every loaf that I prepared stuck in the proofing basket and had to be scraped/dug/cursed out when the proofing time was up. I made sourdough and a simple white bread and had the same results on both types.

I dusted the baskets with flour before loading the once risen, shaped dough. Please help me, what am I missing? My wife thinks the whole proofing basket thing is crazy, but I've seen some awesome photos on this board.
    Toby

Re: Proofing Basket Help Needed

Back to the basics!!!

First guess is your dough was too wet or not adequately floured. I think there is a tendency to try to have too little flour in the basket - or on the bread. Either can work, with really sticky doughs I often do both. But there are more issues than that. You may not have adequately worked the dough to get it manageable. And at forming you do want to tighten the skin on the dough. That tightening seems to help prevent sticking. The basket makers suggest spraying the baskets with oil (Pam). I am not convinced that helps much (I have the baskets too!)

I am about to upload a video from Peter Reinhart folding an 80% BP (baker's percentage) ciabatta dough that you should take a look at. It may inspire you!

And finally, if you have trouble with sticking - back down on the BP a bit until you get a manageable dough. Then as you get success and expience add back some water. You didn't indicate what your BP was. My norm is 68 for bread flour boules. About 64 for AP pane Pugliese. Those RARELy stick to the basket on me. If they do I know I screwed up a bit.

Hope that helps!
    Jay

Comment