bread recipe

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• bread recipe

Hello all you fine folks. I am a newbie to this forum in fact this is my first ever post. As such i wish to make an offering. I am new to the wood fired world but i do make all my own bread for my household so here is my offering to the wood fire gods. this is one of my favorite bread recipes and the one I use nearly every day. Sorry about any typos. I am all thumbs when it comes to keyboarding.

Mainville Family Bread Recipe:

2 cups of water (473) grams, (yes I do weigh the water), 1 Tbs. butter (or extra virgin olive oil) heat in microwave for 1 min. let sit while you mix the first part of the recipe

In a large bowl (I use my stand mixer bowl) put:

1 ? cups (197 grams) white whole wheat flour

1 tbs. instant yeast

2 tbs. vital wheat gluten

1 Tbs. malted barley flour

1 ? tsp. salt

1 tbs. Honey or sugar either one works well but I prefer the honey

Add the warmed water and butter and whisk together till it makes a smooth warm batter

Add 3 1/2 cups (545 grams) bread flour
    Mix in stand mixer for ten minutes or mix with a spoon then knead for ten minutes by hand adding flour to prevent sticking till dough is smooth and elastic.

If using a stand mixer turn out the dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead for a bout two minutes flouring jut enough to make it not stick to your hands or the counter top. I am still not sure why i knead for two minutes after kneading by mixer for tenminutes but some how making bread without kneading by hand seems wrong lol
    Place dough in an oiled bowl (you can simply spray a bowl with cooking spray and plop in the dough and then spray the dough as well) I have recently started to use extra virgin olive oil because I love the flavor it imparts to the finished bread.

Cover with a moist towel and let sit in a warm place (85 deg F) till doubled... About an hour.