Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from the Scottish Highlands

Hi All

Having started with a throwaway comment like "let's buy a wee pizza oven for the garden", I now find myself building a pretty substantial brick oven, and hoping that it get's used more than twice a year! I've just laid the slab and put my back out in the process. I am basically a bricky beginner, but fairly capable generally at DIY, so hoping that with a little help from this forum and some patience and trial and error, I should be able to build something that heats up without crashing to the ground. I suspect it's going to take quite a while, but I am looking forward to it with a little bit of trepidation - especially the dome and chimney/entrance part of the build.

Would it be useful for the "community" and me if I started a thread of my build? If so, where is the best place to start that? I have the basic design and build strategy, but I'm sure there will be many issues along the way and your help and advice would be much appreciated.

Block work will commence in a couple of days...

Cheers
    Jay

Yes it would be good to start your own thread. It depends of the type of oven your are building where the best place to start the thread, IE dome (pompeii) - Pompeii Oven Construction, barrel, cast, cob, - Other oven types. Be sure to post your design on the blog before you start. We see many builder post after the fact asking about this or that does not work and at that point it is in many cases the problem cannot be corrected easily. Be sure to review the free eplans from Forno Bravo, a good baseline but a little dated. Current innovations you will find by searching this blog
    Russell
    Google Photo Album [https://photos.google.com/share/AF1Q...JneXVXc3hVNHd3/]

Comment