Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Drying dome with Humidifier -does it make sense?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drying dome with Humidifier -does it make sense?

Hi folks, I am new and this is my first post. This is my first build. Lots of good info from you guys helped to progress me to final stages o my dome build. Iam at start of drying my dome.
    Been reading lots of good advice related to curing the dome with fire at various temps. However, as you mostly concur, controlling the temp especially at the initial stages of cure is critical to reducing cracks but not easy and prone to potential heat spikes specially if you are absent minded like me.

I have an idea that I am exploring using an electric dehumidifier. When a room is damp or flooded, one approach is to use a dehumidifier for a few days, so this is the basis of my plan. I am thinking do we need heat or will the humidifier help with the objective of driving out the moisture gently and more controllably at the initial stages of drying.

I have started today and placed the dehumidifier at the entrance of the dome and sealed round the entrance to the dehumidifier inlet with plastic sheet. A quick job really.

As you guys are the experts, would appreciate your opinion on whether this is a viable approach or silly. Let me know if it rings any alarm bells so can rescue in good time. I have attached a pic.

Click image for larger version  Name:	dome drying3.jpg Views:	1 Size:	300.1 KB ID:	399556
    Last edited by ramedam; 07-12-2017, 10:06 AM.

Are we talking dehumidifier or humidifier? I suspect dehumidifier, so I will be interested on the outcome. When you are ready, your first few cures can be BBQ briquettes which are easier to control the temperature without having a flame.
    Russell
    Google Photo Album [https://photos.google.com/share/AF1Q...JneXVXc3hVNHd3/]

Comment