Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help me design a mobile oven install on the cheap!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help me design a mobile oven install on the cheap!

Hello everyone, I have a 1200lb 120cm modular oven arriving in two weeks and I need to design a mobile base for it. Ideally, I would make the base out of steel, we do have a welder at the farm but the only one who was really gifted with it, passed away last year. I don't trust the welds of anyone else to hold my precious oven (except a professional welder of course, but that gets very pricey). If the style of welds for a pizza cart can be made so that they are extremely easy, let me know, I would prefer that way.

My other option to consider would be a wood cart, I know wood is no where near as rigid as welded steel but I have some wood-working experience and I think it is possible. In some ways, I am more comfortable working with wood because it is a medium I understand. I could make the base out of 6x6's and set the oven on 2x6 joists with 2x4 cross bracing to strengthen it from lateral loads.

I have picked out some 10" pneumatic tires on casters rated for 500lbs each to wheel it around the property.

My next issue to tackle is insulation, I want to do this as cheaply as possible, I do not have hundreds of dollars to throw at several ceramic blankets and insulated bricks for the hearth. I would just do a vermiculite/portland base using a 5:1 ratio but I am concerned about the strength of this in a mobile application. Do you have any input for a cost effective insulated base for a mobile oven?