Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Converting a fireplace into a wood-fired oven!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Converting a fireplace into a wood-fired oven!!

Hi everyone, this is my first time ever on a forum so let's see how we go...

I am renovating an old stone cottage on my parents farm for me to live and the kitchen has a fireplace where there was once an old style cast iron oven. I would love to brick it up into a wood-fired oven to cook pizzas, breads and whatever i may be able to cook in it... Is there any reason this would not work?? The chimney would be at the back... Is it a problem if i brick out from the original fire place to give myself more room? Would i need to line the inside to make sure it is properly sealed as it is very old? Could i put shelves in it?

If someone is interested in giving me some feedback then i would love to share some photo's...

Positive vibes

Re: Converting a fireplace into a wood-fired oven!!

It can be done, but you will face some challenges you'll face. First is the chimney. A chimney with an opening at the rear of the oven will allow heat to escape, and you'll never reach pizza temperatures. You would have to reroute the oven flue to match the existing chimney, which could require some demolition. Another solution is to bend the flue from the oven vent back over the dome and then route it to the existing chimney. The "beavertail dome" demonstrated at the link below could give you an idea of how to do it.

MHA News - 2006 Meeting - Backyard Oven with Peter Moore

Second, you have some spatial limitations unless the fireplace is huge or you have a free hand to demolish what you need. Space will dictate size, placement, insulation, etc. in your build.

Comment

Hi azatty
      Looked through the pictures at that link. What advantage has that almond shape dome over the more conventional and appararently simpler construction of a hemispherical dome?