firebrick base question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• firebrick base question

I am in the process of completing my patio. So far, I have build a fireplace and am now starting my pizza oven.

My question is, for the base layer of the pizza oven, I am planning on putting the firebricks on their sides to increase thickness. Should I use mortar between the bricks or just stack them so there is no space between them?

Also, is there any additional insulation needed below the firebrick or will 4" of firebrick be enough?

Below is a picture of the fireplace. The outside isn't finished in stone yet. I will do that when i complete the pizza oven and do it all at once.

Re: firebrick base question

after reading the forum more (this is my first time here) i realized i need more insulation at the base. I will go with 3 1/2" vermiculite/portland for under the firebrick. Anymore than that, i will be getting too high.

Comment

If you use vermiculite/perlite it should be atleast 4". You options are to make the floor not as thick to have enough room for the insulation. Or to use ceramic insulation board that can be thinner for the same efficiency. Insulation is not the part where you wan't to skimp on.

My question is, for the base layer of the pizza oven, I am planning on putting the firebricks on their sides to increase thickness. Should I use mortar between the bricks or just stack them so there is no space between them?
      Don't mortar them. Just stack them without any spaces.

If you plan on building the floor inside the dome then you also need to leave a gap between the dome and floor to leave some room for the floor to expand. If Not then just stack them and start building the dome.
      Last edited by Laku; 09-28-2012, 10:18 AM.

Comment