Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Price range for building project

Hi everybody,
    I'm new in this oven-building world, and I want to start my own project.

I was wondering about the cost of a project of this genre.
    What is the price range for a simple oven (assuming I have all the tools) built with the pompeii oven plans, and what is the effect of the size (36"-42") on the final price.

Thanks to you all and sorry for my English,
    Guy

Re: Price range for building project

Guy,

Material price where I'm at in Kansas for only the refractory oven materials was just under $700 USD after tax. That bought me 200 high duty fire bricks (enough to build a 42") @ $2.30each, insulating board @ $98, insulating blanket @ $85, and refractory mortar @ $95.

I am guessing on the prices, but that is pretty close.

Like I said, that just gets you the oven. Your stand and house will very likely differ from mine so I can't help you there!

Casey

Comment

About $1,000 for the basic base, bricks, insulating materials, mortar. Where it gets expensive is if you go with a few tons of flagstone strips, make a huge house structure around it, add a flagstone patio, two islands, water to the island, stainless outdoor cabinets, stone farm house sink ... etc.

Comment

Hi Guyskr,

Thank you for your post. We here at Forno Bravo understand the need to save money and cut some conners when need be. Just be careful when doing that. You get what you pay for. You don't want to take the inexpensive route now and in a few years have to rebuild a new oven. With that being said we would recommend that you get really good insulation as well as a really good cooking surface. This will be your best bet!

Happy Building,
        Forno Bravo

Comment