Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chimney under barn dilema

Hi All,
    Newbie here, May I first thank all who have contributed to this great site making it a wealth of information to those of us who are now, eagerly but with some trepidation, embarking on that holy grail to pizzardom and thank you in anticipation of your help and advice to my quandry.

I wish to build the oven inside my barn which has a very high roof, to the ridge is about 17 feet but the supporting beams are maybe only12 feet above ground
    The barn itself is over 100 years old and has many oak beams criss crossing to support the roof some of the beams are about 12 x 12inches The roof however is fairly new covered with ceramic tiles.
    My intention is for the chimney to vent through the roof.
    My concern is the fact the chimney would be touching some beams on the way up.
    So my questions are:
    Would the heat emitting from the chimney be so intense as to set fire to nearby wood.
    DO I HAVE TO go through the roof or would a cap over the top of chimney be enough to stop heat burning roof ( there is plenty of ventilation between the barn wall and roof, it is not a sealed barn) so smoke would hopefully dissapate through the eaves.

I live in Bulgaria so rules on what you do are a matter for the individual to some extents, I just dont want to burn my barn down.
    It is very difficult, apart from the language barrier to source the materials people are mentioning. I have found Perlite but vermiculite seems to be unheard of.
    Is anyone out there in FB land living in Bulgaria??
    Once again many thanks for any help given.
    YK

Re: Chimney under barn dilema