Two very preliminary design questions from a newb

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Two very preliminary design questions from a newb

Total newbie. I'm designing my outdoor kitchen which will be a counter with grill, a pizza oven, a covering over the patio. I have a couple questions that are important to my overall design:

1. I'm trying to calculate the stand size. Are the metal studs that I will use 2" thick? If so, does this calc seem right? Just want to make sure I'm not missing anything. Design is a casa2g 90 with a walled enclosure.

Width: 40" (oven) + 6" (ceramic insulation instead of vermiculite to save space) + 4" (metal studs) + 1" (drywall) + 4" (stone veneer) = 55"

Depth: 43.5" (oven) + 3" (ceramic insulation) + 2" (metal stud) + .5" (drywall) + 2" (stone veneer) + 12" (landing) = 63"

Should I add a couple inches as margin for error, just to make sure? Maybe allow for 57" and 65"?

2. I may need to have my vent exit the housing more towards the back. Is that possible? The edge of my patio roof may be near the pizza oven. So I'd like to move the vent back to be away from the roof. I'm guessing that once the vent leaves the casa2g 90 and is in my housing, I can angle it back and have it exit the housing in a more posterior position?

Re: Two very preliminary design questions from a newb

Hello Terdferguson

Welcome to the Forum.

You will get plenty of help and advice here.

Question 2.

The Stainless steel flue pipe that most people use has 30 degree and 45 degree bends available. I used Duravent double walled chimney pipe.
    Several builders have had bends in their chimney to avoid roof lines or other obstructions.

On question 1.
    A little extra room is better than just not enough room. You could always add more insulation if it turns out that you had too much room.

David

Comment

Welcome to the best source of info on building your WFO.