galvanized bolts is it poison?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• galvanized bolts is it poison?

hi guys, I have a question. Is galvanized bolts and screw poison? I plan to use some on my oven on the outside but most importantly I used them on my Brazilian BBQ and wanted to know if I should be worried in anyway. below is a picture of them being used to hold the steel bars. Should I be worried?
    Best Regards...
    Gugahulk!

My Build...

http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f6/w...-fl-21793.html

BUILD IT AND THEY WILL COME
    Food will always be the best way to spend time with family & friends, and that is all that really matters.
    STOP THINKING ABOUT IT AND DO IT!

Re: galvanized bolts is it poison?

I'm no expert, but have researched the topic a bit in the past. I believe your concern comes from welding galvanized (zinc-plated) steel, which can make you sick from inhalation of zinc oxide fumes. When zinc is raised to a high temperature (at or above its boiling point around 900C), it burns and forms zinc oxide smoke. Pure zinc melts at around ~450C. Like any kind of smoke, zinc oxide will irritate the lungs, leading to difficulty breathing: This is not a dangerous situation and it clears up immediately when you move away from the source of the fumes. People exposed to high concentrations of zinc oxide can also develop a condition known as the "zinc chills", "metal fume fever", "brass-founders ague", or a number of other colorful terms. This involves fever, tremors, and other unpleasant symptoms. This condition is a purely temporary condition that clears up without any known long term effects or complications. It's certainly nothing to laugh about, but the maximum downside to zinc exposure is fever, shakes, and vomiting that go away and then you get better. It's not like lead or sun tanning that can have life-threatening consequences down the road, or like carbon monoxide that can kill you on the spot. Welding galvanized steel generates zinc fu