Design Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Design Advice

I am getting ready to build an oven. I plan to build a barrel oven. I am an avid bread baker (also enjoy pizzas and other cooking) We want a versatile oven that holds heat well and has sufficient thermal mass to bake 2-3 batches of bread and stay hot for other cooking.

I created my own modified Alan Scott design (see attached PDF design docs) to improve stability and thermal mass and would like advice. Specifically on thermal mass and the amount of time I can expect my oven to stay hot / temperature drop per time. I have an inner substructure made of 9x4x2.5" med duty fire bricks then an overlaying structure of 9x4x1.5" fire brick splits.

The inner dimensions are 41" deep, 28" wide, 18" high at dome, The door opening is 17" wide and 12.5" high (I plan to build a custom door with rope to seat, iron with ceramic fiber insulation)

I plan to set the floor on sand slurry on top of ceramic fiber board then wrap the oven structure with 3" of ceramic fiber then cover with stucco. After insulation I will add the front with flue.

I designed on google sketch up and after finalized I can upload to 3D warehouse to share with with community.

Thanks for the advice in advance.

1. Barrel ovens require either or both buttressing and steel bracing.
    2. End walls should be built under rather than beside the vault.
    Both of these requirements make the barrel oven probably more difficult to build than a dome.
    There are plenty of barrel oven builds on this site and researching them first would be a good idea before you commit or commence.
    Kindled with zeal and fired with passion.

Comment