Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 30" cast pizza oven - scotland

Hi Team,

I took the plunge a few weeks ago after watching a you tube video series on building a cheap pizza oven, and basically thought i was an expert!! How wrong i was after stumbling across this forum and got the vibe, if your going to do it, why not go the extra mile and do it properly!

Attached are the pics of where i am at;

I laid a 4" thick, 39" x 47" concrete foundation and built a small block base, initially with 2 legs, but added the 3rd, middle leg in for support after reading forums on here.
    I've then placed 4 x 23.5"x 23.5" (2" thick) paving slabs on top as part of my sub-base.

Thats where i am at, i plan, unless the expertise on this forum say otherwise, to:

Build a 47" x 47" form and pour a, 47" x 47", 5:1 vermiculite/portland cement mix slab, at a thickness of 2" on top of the slabs to complete the sub-base.

Then lay 2 x 1" thick ceramic fibre boards as insulation directly on top of the vermiculite concrete.

Then place my fire bricks on top in herringbone formation.

Use a gym ball to cast a 2" thick, refractory cement mould, appox 29-30" internal diameter, and then place this on top of the bricks, ensuring no bricks are touching the vermiculite sub-base.

Insulation around the dome will be, as mentioned, 2" refractory cement, 2" fire blanket, 2" refractory cement and then 1.5" render to finish.

The flue gallery, i'll have to get my head around, more reading required.

If that sounds like it would blow up in my face then please let me know, i'm extracting info from this site all the time and trying to put it into my own build.