Extending front entrance with perlcrete

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Extending front entrance with perlcrete

I wanted to check if this is a bad idea or not. I wanted to bring forward the front entrance to my cob-like oven a little bit while I'm setting up all my perlcrete insulation. It will move something like 5 inches forward. I first thought I might plop down some more cob made from my sand/clay mix around a sand mold right in front. However, this region isn't really a cooking surface and I don't necessarily want it heating up either. So I thought instead I'd form up the sand support like I was doing cob, but instead lay some perlcrete. This would form a perlcrete entrance, and one that would be unsupported overhead for that ~5 inches of archway. Will that hold up okay?

Re: Extending front entrance with perlcrete

As I am not an engineer, I will not comment on whether it will hold up. On a practical level, I see other issues. First, perlcrete is relatively soft. You are going to be moving a lot of wood into this oven. While you will understand how important it is to carefully place the wood in the oven to ensure that the perlcrete does not get damaged, you will inevitably ask someone else to stoke the fire who does not understand how soft the perlcrete is. That person will accidently throw a log against the perlcrete causing bad things to happen.

My inner arch is very narrow where the flu drops down through it. When designing this inner arch I originally did not see this as a big problem. After hitting the inner arch with just one log, the arch collapsed. While I was able to rebuild the arch, it remains very fragile. If I ever decide to rebuild the oven, I will definitely beef up the entrance area to allow for the errant log to bounce off of and not damage any of the masonry as it passes through the arch area to the oven chamber.

Comment