Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 32 inch (ish) cast oven in Dublin

Hi all

Thank you for this forum, I have learned so much and don't think it would be possible for me to build without the information here.

I have been building since June and just getting to the actual oven now so thought it was time I started a thread.

I am a complete novice and never laid a brick before this, but hopefully some other novices can learn something from my mistakes and indecisiveness (hence the long time building).

The plan is for a Pizza Oven, Santa Maria grill and work surface. Have planned for Homebrew cast oven. The garden is small and space is limited so wont fit much more than 800mm diameter. Planned dimensions are below, in inches cos almost all have come from this forum.

Internal diameter: 31.5"
    Oven Walls: 2"
    Insulating Blanket: 2"
    Vermiculite Insulation: 2"
    Render: 1"
    External Diameter: 45.5"
    Door width: 15"
    Door Height: 10"
    Chimney Diameter: 6" Single wall
    Chimney Height: 39.5"

Floor will be made of fire bricks and 1" vermiculite board. I will build a sandcastle to cast and am currently torn between casting the flue gallery and using fire bricks for the arches (I can get pretty ones for €1 each. I was set on using bricks until I read david s said they can act as a heat sink. So back to the head-scratching.

Every step so far has been head-scratching but its movin along slowly.

Shane

More progress photos

Comment

Comment

I have a couple questions. ANy help would be much appreciated.

1. david s mentioned that bricks in the flue gallery can act as a heat sink. is a cast flue gallery the best way to go for a cast oven?
        2. is the door width of 15" ok? I read several times that door width should not exceed half the internal diameter, but the Forno Bravo Casa oven has a door width of 17" so im confused on optimal door width for a small oven.

Comment