Crust issues

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Crust issues

I am moving this post to this section...more suitable topic for here.

Newbie here...using my indoor 30" electric oven to cook pizzas on a stone at 500F (I think). My oven is a Wolf and it has a "Bake Stone" mode. The owners manual specifically talks about using this mode for pizza cooking, so I guess that's the right mode to be using (and I have used that mode)

I'm getting an edible result, but would like to have a browner, crispier crust in the center of the pie. The edges and the center ingredients are cooking nicely, browning fine...but that bottom needs help.

Ingredients were a high protein flour, an instant yeast, a decent EVO, San Marzano tomatoes. Dough was mixed in KitchenAid mixer, gave it about an hour or two to rise.

My last pie was prepared using EVO, then sauce, then cheese, etc,. I'm wondering of the EVO is preventing the crust from "crisping"?

I'm really inexperienced...so no question or suggestion is too basic.

Thanks folks!

Re: Crust issues

Photos would be helpful!
    I assume you ARE using a baking stone?
    Are you letting it heat up for a good long time--like an hour?
    Can you tell what exactly "bake stone" mode does vs. regular bake?
    Gas or electric?
    Without further info, I would say your stone isn't hot enough and/or you're putting too much stuff on top.

Comment

Photo's...not possible.

Baking stone....Yes

Heating for a long time....well yes. However, I lost my argument with Wifey over temp- she thought 450. So thats where things started. I turned it up after first pie, but doubt that the stone had time to really take advantage of higher temp. (Gee, this kinda sounds like the answer here, donnit?)

Bake mode...not sure and owners manual doesn't explicitly say. Oven is a high end model (Wolf) and I think it probably has to do with which elements are on...but not sure.

Gas or electric....electric.