Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Mobile Pizza trailer code nightmares.....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mobile Pizza trailer code nightmares.....

I am a first time business owner and was determined that if I'm gonna do this, I'm gonna do this right. I believe I've spent about 75 hours researching the various codes and licensing I do or do not need to get. It's easy to find info on traditional food trucks, e.g., fully enclosed, self-sufficient models. The problem is figuring out how these codes pertain to an open-air style Mobile Food Dispensing Vehicle(pizza oven trailer). There is literally no codes specific to open-air pizza trailers. Fully enclose trailers, yes. But the next step down from a self sufficient unit with 3-compartment sink and the works as far as code goes, is an open-air hot dog cart; but they are restricted to only serving frankfurters. That is the only reference I can find to open-air food vehicles at all! And please don't say "Just give the health department a call"....I have visited that place in person 4 times in the past 2 weeks and those people are clueless. The Fire Marshal is clueless on how to permit a vehicle that transports flames/coals(since my catering operation has to serve lunch at 3 different locations in a 2.5hour span, which means I can't put out the fire 3 different times. I have to find a way to transport the oven while the flame is burning strong all the way, he has no idea what to tell me) even though spark arrestors will be used according to NFPA 96 to be in accordance with existing code, but the moving part jars him a little. I can't even figure out how to legally label these open air style pizza trailers. For Example: