John's Barrel/vault build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• John's Barrel/vault build

I've been collecting materials for six years... And today I began building my wfo. It is a vault with a 36" wide by 45" long floor. The ceiling height will be 19.5 inches with a 11-12" high door. I mortared the first four course today and hope to do the vault (running bond) next week. I have 4" of Calsil under the cooking floor and 2" under the walls. The two boys cleaning bricks in the picture were too young to help when I first started thinking of building a wfo.

First question, more to follow: when transitioning from the ceiling arch to the door arch does is need to be gradual or can it step down (sorry can't think of a better way to describe what I'm asking)?

Second: my entry arch will not be touching the oven door or hearth. There will be a thermal break and I plan on placing the flue on the entry arches. I do not have any more Calsil. Can the entry arch sit directly on the concrete hearth or does it need to have insulation underneath?

All comments and suggestions are welcomed and appreciated.

John

Re: John's Barrel/vault build

When I began this morning

Comment

When I finished

Comment

Here are pictures of my progress. I'm getting a nice running bond on the vault. The only thing I am not adhering to is building the end wall underneath the arch... I am wondering if it will do any good to run the last three rows of the arch to the outside edge of the back wall bonding them to the top of the wall rather than the side?

I built the form out of peg board. It was pliable enough to bend and it has the laminate surface so hopefully my messing mortaring won't stick too much.

Comment

Originally posted by JohnR View Post